Rest in Peace, LMDE 1

The GIMP (GNU image manipulation program) has been getting less and less usable. It finally reached the point of no return for me. No matter what I tried, I couldn’t get basic painting to work. The GIMP has become so unusable that there is an entire chapter in the manual dedicated to helping users solve this “common” problem. This shows how bad the problem has become: an entire chapter dedicated to troubleshooting why the most basic feature doesn’t work. I tried every suggestion it gave.

Next, I tried Krita, a KDE based fork of the GIMP. Installation is easy (sudo apt-get install krita). It has a much simpler interface, but the sizing control for the brush did not work for me.

Next, I thought I’d try Pinta. It is not installable with apt-get by default. I tried a bunch of methods of determining which version of debian I was running (documented by linuxconfig.org), but none of them work for Linux Mint debian edition. According to  lsb_release -da, I was on release 1 of Linux Mint debian edition:

Description:    LMDE Cinnamon Edition
Release:    1

ripTo get onto release 2, which is based on debian’s Jessy release (thanks wikipedia), I decided to Upgrade from LMDE 1 to LMDE 2. This turned out to be a very bad thing to do. After the “upgrade”, Linux booted, but the login screen never showed up. Next step was to install a fresh LMDE 2 and restore the files I’d backed up. Now all that remains is to download and set up everything I had on LMDE 1.

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in systems administration, tools and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

